QuizRocket Sucks

Attention QuizRocket: I don’t want to have to give you my:

  • Full Name
  • E-mail Address
  • Street Address
  • Zip Code
  • Phone Number

… just to take a lame, poorly-formatted Facebook quiz. Didn’t you guys learn fuck-all from November’s Beacon fiasco?  Privacy is important, people.

Technorati Tags: ,

28 Responses to “QuizRocket Sucks”


  1. 1 j March 29, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    have you ever tried to finish one of their shitty quizzes? holy flying fuck if they don’t assault you with thirty pages of “optional” offers… they’re all optional but you HAVE to choose at least one to continue? “hold on, we’re almost done with your results”… just suffer through twenty-nine more pages of this BS! i don’t know how they can stay in business.

  2. 2 Andrew March 30, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Exactly–thumbs down on quizrocket.com…I found this page in a search for how many other people wanted back the 10 minutes of their life spent on their site.

  3. 3 Tom May 17, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Quizrocket is run by Pangea Media, who also runs Quibblo.com (of course full of ads trying to get you to quizrocket)
    pangeamedia.com

    Pangea Media
    85 Main Street
    Suite 200
    Watertown MA 02472

    Tel: 617-923-0000
    Fax: 617-923-0101

    info@pangeamedia.com

    please let them know what you think!

  4. 4 sandeep May 22, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    quizrocket sucks. waste of time. full of adds

  5. 5 quizrocket_buster May 23, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Quizrocket used my e-mail and used it to mail US Senator regarding some initiative. All of this w/o my permission. They used my e-mail pretending I was sending the e-mails. I am calling the FBI early Monday to report their scams and illegal use of my e-mail.

    I also intend to take legal action against quizrocket.

  6. 6 Mike May 30, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    yeah that website is absurd i’m pretty angry about it

  7. 7 zzz June 26, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    I hate quiz rocket and I sent them a message to that affect at info@pangeamedia.com. I would like to know how to report them to an agency as a terrorist organization for infringing on my privacy by trying to sell me all kinds of worthless shit.

  8. 8 nightwolff June 26, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Your best bet is to collect information proving their business violates lawful practices and report them to the Federal Trade Commission.

  9. 9 weezilla July 13, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    what a waste. I took their stupid freaking quiz to pass some time, then I spent more time trying to register. The last thing I wanted to do was enter my phone number, so I entered a fake one and they wanted the key they texted to the phone to continue.

    I wish I could meet the person who runs this website.

    grrr

  10. 10 Naima Cuevas July 23, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Oh my god! I know it is so annoying, I was taking a quiz to earn money on my cashcrates and I couldn’t even finish, I was extremely annoyed when they started asking me for my personal info. Anyways if I didn’t finish submitting the quiz, but i send in my personal info such as home phone# and email will they still know it and be able to use it?

    😦

  11. 11 Anthony Stevens July 23, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    @Naima: Probably. I would be ready for a lot of spam if I were you.

  12. 12 Doug Means August 8, 2008 at 11:06 am

    I sent them a pretty nasty e-gram demanding they remove my name off their list of outgoing trash-mails.(info@pangeamedia.com.) I hope it works I am so tired of seeing there name on our spam blocker. I still get e-mails at work notifying me that quizrocket has sent me another spam-mail and I have to let them know to delete it or let it through. Of course we delete them. If anyone knows how to get them to stop sending stuff to us via e-mail, please enlighten me. Or if there is a class action suit against them I want in.

  13. 13 Notmyrealname August 16, 2008 at 3:49 am

    Why would anyone type in their real email, or any real info on a site like that?

    8)

  14. 14 taken for a ride August 16, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Just did a quizrocket test that popped up. These guys suck – borderline evil. They make you answer 20 mildly interesting questions, then before you find out how you did you have to go through boatloads of totally ridiculous ads and questionnaires. It’s awful. They are awful. They should be ashamed of themselves.

  15. 15 peter September 3, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Quizrocket is a crappy site. I too the how emo are you test and the choice are really poor. It is so easy to see what choices led where. Also when i gave them my email i used my bad one which is full of junk because i knew there was something bad with that site. Im never going to that shithole again.

  16. 16 James September 6, 2008 at 11:32 am

    I recently picked up a feeble attempt to take over my PC.
    One of the things it would do is take me to that quizRocket
    site. That site is disgusting. Reading the fine print told
    me this was just another step in getting me in deeper. The virus would take to several other sites that I was not interested in. I think I got rid of all pf the programs that made up this virus. There some sick people on the Internet. Their day is coming.

  17. 17 Matthew September 9, 2008 at 12:54 am

    I will give you my opinion of QuizRocket…

    But first, I will need your email, phone #, Mother’s Maiden Name…

    Are You Kidding Me?

  18. 18 Esther September 10, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Is there something I am missing here? Why would you give them your real name, real email address, real address zip code etc… This is 110% common sense. I just made up some jibberish stuff LOL. I know the deal. Plus I read they never give you the real answers, just a score. What a waste of time.

  19. 19 Fake Name September 12, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Of course they are scammy.

    I thought it would be fun to see how many questions and how much fake info I could give before I got to the end.

    Quite a lot.

    In the end I think it is one of the most effective websites I have ever seen. They are quite smart. They know exactly how to draw people in and retain them.

    If someone wanted to scam people their site would be a perfect model to follow.

  20. 20 just me September 13, 2008 at 2:18 am

    wowie….i found this site by following a link from collegecandy.com what a waste of time and brain cells. But what is really lame is that even to express my opinion here I have to give my name&email etc. For the last time internet, you can’t have my soul!

  21. 21 Me September 18, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Their website is hosted by Slicehost, so they’re the ones that should be contacted regarding their systems being used for scams. If no results then contact the NSA (national security agency as well as the US Trade Commission)

    Call us: 888-82SLICE
    Snail Mail

    Slicehost
    4579 Laclede Ave. #258
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63108
    OrgName: Slicehost LLC
    OrgID: SLICE
    Address: 4579 Laclede Avenue #258
    City: St. Louis
    StateProv: MO
    PostalCode: 63108
    Country: US

    NetRange: 208.78.96.0 – 208.78.103.255
    CIDR: 208.78.96.0/21
    NetName: SLICE-STL-SD
    NetHandle: NET-208-78-96-0-1
    Parent: NET-208-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: NS1.SLICEHOST.NET
    NameServer: NS2.SLICEHOST.NET
    Comment: http://www.slicehost.com
    RegDate: 2007-05-18
    Updated: 2007-05-18

  22. 22 ;; xD September 19, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    omg. i spammed them with the unsubscribe me mail thingy, that website is just a load of bullshit. i did the superhero quiz for myspace, for credits on an app, and i gave everything fake, exept my street adress, because it woudlnt accept anyothers i made up. i too, sent them a nasty letter.

  23. 23 Soda September 26, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    you could just register at their site using the contact info of the FBI and FTC, that may get someones attention.

  24. 24 john redfield October 15, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    lol I just used their street address for the required field and their own phone number but then it said I needed to give them a cell phone number. Im sure its so they can send me spam texts messages.

  25. 25 Mojave Joe October 17, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Quizrocket just popped up out of nowhere and I am floored with all of the so called security I have on my machine that they did it…

  26. 26 Mojave Joe October 17, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    I also found ‘quizrocket’ in my registry, which I eliminated immediately!

  27. 27 SARA November 1, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    I entered fake info, and there was an option on mine to skip the question asking for a mobile number.

    Anyway, if you did enter your mobile, you do realise that you will be charged for each text that they send you, and I think that if you enter your number you are subscribing to their ring tone service, which costs around £5 per week.

    Highly annoying site which I won’t visit again…


Leave a comment




TwitterCounter for @anthonyrstevens
Add to Technorati Favorites

RSS Feed

View Anthony Stevens's profile on LinkedIn