Outlook 2007 Error: None of the Authentication Methods Supported By This Client Are Supported By Your Server

I ran into the following issue this week while traveling on business to Las Vegas: Sending e-mail from Outlook 2007 was failing with the error:

None of the authentication methods supported by this client are supported by your server.

I thought this was odd, as I hadn’t changed anything with the configuration — just a different network. I hunted around, and determined a possible fix was to disable the “My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication” option on the Outgoing Server tab in Outlook. This worked! Strange.

Coming back to Seattle, I was unable to send e-mail again, with the following (different) error:

550 5.7.1 Unable to relay for <email>

Turning the “My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication” back on fixed this problem.

This seems like a very strange problem. It has to be network related, but what about the particular network would cause this? Dunno.

27 Responses to “Outlook 2007 Error: None of the Authentication Methods Supported By This Client Are Supported By Your Server”


  1. 1 Rob Eden January 20, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Thanks very much for the information. I was going nuts trying to work out why I was geting that message. Like all very difficult things in life, the solution was so simple.

  2. 2 Tim Maler January 29, 2008 at 5:06 am

    Thanks for that tip. I almost un-installed Norton’s and re-installed it. This saved me a lot of time!

    Thanks Again

    Tim Maler

  3. 3 alan February 7, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Hello,
    Disabling the “My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication” option on the Outgoing Server tab in Outlook did not work for me, when I did this and tested the outgoing email another error message came up “ox800ccc69.
    can anyone help.

    I recently had to re format the hard drive in re install XP, since then I can recieve emails but have been unable to send any.

    many thanks

    alan

  4. 4 Anthony Stevens February 7, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    alan: you might try checking out http://forums.techguy.org/web-email/412765-solved-outlook-unknown-error-0x800ccc69.html
    or http://forums.techguy.org/web-email/551185-error-0x800ccc69-unknown-error.html. If you’re technical, you might try telnet on port 25 to make sure you can connect to your mailbox directly.

    Good luck!

  5. 5 K N Narendra February 22, 2008 at 5:40 am

    It worked for me by selecting “Auto” against the option “use the following type of encrypted connection”. Hope it will work for you.

  6. 6 Tim Tupy March 9, 2008 at 8:54 am

    Thank you. I finally searched the error message and found this. This worked. I almost feel bad how much I was getting upset with the Charter Internet Rep. I now think it is a Microsoft issue.

  7. 7 JLogan April 21, 2008 at 3:03 am

    Funny, for me it is the opposiste. At home I have to have the STMP checked, when traveling I had to uncheck it.

  8. 8 Tosin May 12, 2008 at 12:03 am

    “Oh the pain! the agony you have averted me cannot go unacknowledged thanks a zillion”

  9. 9 Scott May 16, 2008 at 10:24 am

    I’m sitting pool-side in Vegas right now and I’m having this exact issue on my laptop. I’ve traveled to California and Hawaii recently with no issues. I live in Seattle and everything works fine there, at home at work, in coffee shops, etc.

    This issue is freaking me out. It doesn’t make any sense and it feels a little big brother. My email servers require STMP authentication to send mail, which is why that check box is checked. When I uncheck it, emails go out just fine. How can this be? My server REQUIRES authentication to relay email. Is Vegas exempt? How can this be? How could my host’s email server successfully relay an email sent without authentication only from Vegas?

    If anyone has deeper technical insight into this, please post here. I’m dying to know. Thanks.

  10. 10 Rich June 14, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Almost regretting upgrading from my stable Outlook 2003.

    I think this issue started after a recent Microsoft Update. The only thing that worked for me was to also change(In the Advanced Tab) Use the following type of encrypted connection: to Auto.

  11. 11 Jereriah Manning July 18, 2008 at 7:05 am

    This is related to the ISP of the network you are connected to. Some ISPs require authentication as it helps to cut down on spam sent over their network, other ISPs do not require and error when you try and authenticate. I deal with this one all the time when my Sales Managers travel. It happens in Office 2003 as well, but the error is little more helpful.
    ~jm

  12. 12 Linda Urban July 20, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Thanks so much for the info. I had tech support on the computer for an hour today and they couldn’t figure it out..One click and poof, problem gone. What a great resource for all of us!
    Thanks!

  13. 13 Matt July 24, 2008 at 9:15 am

    This was a great help. Thanks my email works great now

  14. 14 Elizabeth August 7, 2008 at 4:43 am

    Thanks K N Narendra, that worked for me. It had been set to none. But now works just fine.

  15. 15 bert August 12, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Wow, 2 XP PCs running Outlook 2007, in the same room, using the same switch, on the same network. This one wants it unchecked the other wants it checked. Go freakin figure!

  16. 16 Happy Hong Kong August 24, 2008 at 5:51 am

    Happy Happy Joy Joy. Thank you to everyone – what a pesky problem. Aussie travelling in HK Your fix worked perfectly

  17. 17 srinivas August 25, 2008 at 1:43 am

    it worked for me as well. thanks a lot

  18. 18 Valerie August 25, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Thank you SOOOO much! I’m stuck in Vegas and on a deadline – this was a lifesaver!!! 🙂

  19. 19 David August 30, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    I had this problem on Outlook 2007. On the Outgoing Server tab (Account Settings | Change | More settings | Outgoing Server tab)
    I checked “My outgoing server requires authentication” and “Log on to incoming mail server before sending email.” This worked. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction!

  20. 20 JIm September 19, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    On the Outgoing Server tab (Account Settings | Change | More settings | Outgoing Server tab)
    I un-checked “My outgoing server requires authentication”

    This worked, my service provided says it does not

  21. 21 Jamie September 22, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    My Outlook started coming up with this error one day. I unchecked “My outgoing server requires authentication” and it now works great. Strange thing is it is a desktop system that has not moved that suddenly had the problem. Must be something to do with an update as a previous comment said.

    Thanks for the help 🙂

  22. 22 PasswordPopUps September 24, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    I am getting the “Noe of the authentication methods…” error and an “Enter Network Password” popup requring the
    Server, UserName and Password…thing is even when everything is entered I am still not able to SEND or RECEIVE from Outlook 2007.

    Any Suggestions or Solutions?!

    Thanks!

  23. 23 Anthony Stevens September 24, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    @PasswordPopUps: That second popup is strange – I’ve never seen that one in conjunction with the first one. My only advice would be to delete and re-create your account in Outlook 2007, and see if that helps.

  24. 24 Ray October 21, 2008 at 9:26 am

    This happened to me after upgrading from 2003 to 2007 Outlook. In advanced settings for the account, I set “logon before sending mail” and that fixed it.

  25. 25 Ray October 21, 2008 at 9:30 am

    I found that some servers require this (logon before sending) and others do not.

  26. 26 THANK YOU November 9, 2008 at 3:44 am

    almost burnt down the hotel,, thanks for your hint !


  1. 1 Starbucks Consistently Nukes Outlook « The Pursuit of a Life Trackback on February 4, 2008 at 6:36 am

Leave a comment




TwitterCounter for @anthonyrstevens
Add to Technorati Favorites

RSS Feed

View Anthony Stevens's profile on LinkedIn