November Challenge: No Sugar

During the month of October I drank no coffee and no Diet Pepsi.  If you know me, you’ll know that this is a BFD.  It was occasionally very tough but here I sit on November 1st and feel altogether better for having done it.  My energy levels do not spike up and down during the day; and although I miss the manic caffeine buzzes, I don’t miss the corresponding sluggishness.

Interestingly, my overall energy level has not appeared to have gone up.  I expected more.  Also, I have not lost any weight; I expected that the subtraction of a couple lattes a day would have resulted in *something*.  I obviously am eating more, possibly to make up for less fluids or possibly to satisfy some oral fixation.

I’ve been thinking of what I could do in November that would be a good next step and have settled on not eating any sugar.  Specifically:

  • No soft drinks or juices with added sugar
  • No pastries
  • No candy

The real killer thing for me is going to be giving up Red Vines, which I absolutely love.

This step must have been fated, as I read a great post this morning by Marina Martin about committing oneself to 30 days of kicking ass in November with personal goals.

I’ll report back on December 1st.

1 Response to “November Challenge: No Sugar”


  1. 1 Marina Martin November 1, 2008 at 10:22 am

    You were very brave for giving up coffee, Anthony. I was inspired by Daniel Pasco to try a raw vegan diet for the month of November, but I’m pretty sure I’m making an exception for an Americano in the morning. (Lame excuse, but I don’t have the time to go through caffeine detox right now.)

    I’m always curious when people say they’re giving up sugar: are you okay with fructose?


Leave a Reply

