No Lab Love For Google Apps Users

UPDATE: Love from Twitter: Tweep Marina Martin showed me this Greasemonkey script that simulates the Labs functions: Just hit “l” and the “Apply Label” function pops up. Hit the first letter of your label and it starts to drill down. Amazing, and useful. Thanks Marina!

*********************************

I learned tonight that Google Apps users aren’t able to take advantage of the slew of Google Labs features that are made available to Gmail users. Google has recently released new labeling features that I would like to try out, but without the Labs link in Google Apps I’m out of luck.

Google: when will we get Labs in Google Apps?

4 Responses to “No Lab Love For Google Apps Users”


  1. 1 steve.lippert October 9, 2008 at 8:18 am

    I am wondering the same thing! I like the Signature tweak and I really want that on my Google apps account.

  2. 2 Matt October 23, 2008 at 6:27 am

    I got google labls to work in google apps! It looks like my browser (chrome) was loading an older version of gmail everytime I went to my inbox – I had a bookmark leading to it…this time I went into my domain settings and hit the mail tab at the top of that and a new mail window opened with labs! My old window was still opened and it showed no labs, closed it out and I am good to go…hope that works for you!

  3. 3 Anthony Stevens October 23, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Hi Matt! I was super excited to read this – but alas, I don’t see the same tabs you do. I don’t have a “Mail” tab in my settings window.

    I suspect that Google slipstreams features to small groups of users, so your success may be an indication that Google Labs features will be available to *all* Google Apps users before too long. I can’t wait!

  4. 4 Jeff Kershner October 26, 2008 at 10:01 am

    Anthony, you must be right. I have cleared the cache, removed the bookmark and done everything I can think of to have the Google Labs to show up for my Google Apps email. You would think they would roll this out to the apps first. These are features I need for business rather then personal email exchanges. Hopefully Labs will be rolled out soon. I’m dieing to have the signature feature, I’m sick and tired of scrolling to the bottom my every response to copy and paste my signature line.


Leave a Reply

