Identi.ca to Twitter Bridge

Based on @marinamartin’s experience, I’ve decided to set up a bridge between Identi.ca and Twitter, so that updates I make in one tool can be viewed in the other.

My first experiment was with Brad Williams’ tool, but that appears to be one-way only, from Identi.ca to Twitter.

Another search pulled up kshep’s bridge, which ALSO appears to be one-way only.

Is there such a thing as a two-way bridge?

While I was searching, I saw some tweets that seemed to indicate that there may be a conscious decision NOT to program in two-way updates, due the “closed nature” of twitter and in order to make a “political statement”. Oh snap. I suppose that’s what happens when you get a bunch of talented open-source hackers on a project in an election year 🙂

So here’s where I’m at: if I can’t get two-way updates, then I will mainly use Twitter for the near future. If I can get two-way updates, I’ll use identi.ca.

Federation, heal thyself?

3 Responses to “Identi.ca to Twitter Bridge”


  1. 1 Evan Prodromou August 24, 2008 at 11:55 am

    You can make your own two-way bridge with, e.g., Twitterfeed.

  2. 2 Evan Prodromou August 24, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Also, it has nothing to do with Open Source. It’s Steve Gillmor’s idea.

  3. 3 Jeff McNeill August 25, 2008 at 9:04 am

    http://jeffmcneill.com/2008/08/25/twitter-to-laconica-bridge-identica-armytwittv/

    I am new to the bridge thing, which essentially are one way feeds of dents from identi.ca or Leo Laporte’s army.twit.tv or any other laconica installation.

    From what I can tell there are currently three ways of doing this bridge, though I am sure this will multiply very soon, and I likely have missed a few (please add them in the comments).

    * Build your own with the rss feed from any laconica instance, for example http://identi.ca/jeffmcneill/rss and TwitterFeed http://twitterfeed.com

    * Ken Sheppardson’s bridge at http://bridge.kshep.net/ currently works with identi.ca accounts (there is a drop-down list which may include additional laconica servers to choose from at this point)

    * Brad Williams has a bridge over at webdevstudios http://webdevstudios.com/update-twitter-from-your-identica-account-automatically/ . Currently this is for identi.ca only.

    — jeffmcneill


Leave a Reply

