Random Saturday Thoughts

No big topics today, just a few thoughts running through my head…

  • I’ve been thinking a lot about unit-test granularity and wondering about the costs involved with creating “pure” unit tests (tests only one method, everything else is mocked) vs. a looser integration testing model…I’ve always had great success with the integration model.
  • Met several Pelago people last night at Seattle Startup Drinks.  Nice guys, and their flagship product Whrrl really is generating a lot of buzz.  I heard last night that they have around 50 employees!!!!  The question is, can they get enough revenue soon enough to support that kind of burn rate.  GPS and location-based services (LBS) are hot right now, so we’ll see.  I’m rooting for them.  I like Whrrl a lot.
  • If you don’t bother to read your e-mail, I probably shouldn’t bother to re-explain it to you when you ask something that was already covered..<grumble>
  • Microsoft bashing (yes, bashing) is alive and well.  A mini-thread this morning on the Seattle Tech Startups mailing list led to a post right out of 1998 – Microsoft doesn’t innovate.  The other tech stacks are superior.  All the good developers don’t use Microsoft.  Microsoft is expensive.  It’s almost like some people’s view of the world was cemented 10 years ago and they reflexively spout the same nonsense whenever the subject of Microsoft comes up.  Here’s a news flash: YOU’RE BORING EVERYONE.  STOP IT.
  • Heading to Priest Lake next week.  I can’t wait.  The lake, the sun, relaxation….I’ll need to bring my laptop, <ugh> but not do too much with it, I hope.
  • Great discussion with Anders Conbere about Erlang last night.  It sounds like a neat language to learn.
  • There’s an open house / launch party tonight at Giraffe Labs.  I may try to make it, schedule depending.  Good people there.
  • I’m wondering if there would be any interest for a Twitter-themed product at the next Six Hour Startup.
3 Responses to “Random Saturday Thoughts”


  1. 1 Danielle Morrill July 26, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Hi Anthony. I work for Pelago (the guys who make Whrrl), but I wasn’t able to make the event last night. I’m planning on attending the Giraffe Labs party tonight though, so maybe I’ll meet you?

    Cheers,
    Danielle

  2. 2 Marina Martin July 27, 2008 at 5:46 am

    I think Six Hour Startup has enough challenges that we should choose a more stable platform (i.e. absolutely anything else) for our projects than Twitter. I would be all over an Indenti.ca project, though.

  3. 3 firewallender July 28, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Couldn’t agree more about the Microsoft-bashing thread. :-\

    It was nice seeing you at Startup Drinks, albeit too briefly!


Leave a Reply

