Observe Your Habits

Habits are funny creatures.  Often times you don’t even know you have them until something happens to give you a little perspective.

Twice in the last week I’ve parked, and rather than jumping out as I normally do, I have actually stayed in the car for a few minutes – because I was so engrossed in an NPR report that I was listening to at the time.  I can’t remember the last time I actually stayed in a parked car for any length of time whatsoever.

This is of course a trivial example of a habit that I became aware of.  But speak to any person who found out they had cancer, or adopted a child, or went through a divorce, and you can quickly see that there are times when we have no choice but to abruptly and consciously assess our habits – and (perhaps) change them.

What do I take away from this?  Given the right circumstances, habits can change.  Maybe you have some bad habits – let’s call them suboptimal instead – and you might have been stuck in that rut forever.  You can change.  It just may take a good bit of observation and awareness first.

End with a Jedi prescription: Be mindful!

0 Responses to “Observe Your Habits”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

