AdUUp: Lame, Tone-Deaf

Oh, AdUUp, you just don’t get it.

First there was the over-the-top Seattle Tech Startups presentation in May that was a spectacle of spamminess and self-promotion, culminating (in my mind anyway) with the announcement of a supposed exclusive search deal between AdUUp and Flock for the Flock 2.0 browser’s default search engine. Flock, of course, refuted this announcement in no uncertain terms.

Then, last Friday, this sequence of events:

7:59 AM: A comment by “Henry Collerton” was submitted to my blog, stating, among other things:

fleeQ and adUup sure got a lot of haters.
Glad to see that naysayers are very vocal.
Hope the squash you when they make a $100 million dollars sucker!

I’m pretty sure that “Henry Collerton” is a pseudonym (Google the exact name and you’ll see why). Henry lists his website as http://www.aduup.com.

8:03 AM: Henry Collerton posts again, four minutes later, calling me a pervert, and comparing me to this guy, who, despite (a) having an interest in SF, and (b) being named “Anthony Stevens”, is not me. This fact escapes Henry Collerton.

10:43 AM: A couple hours later, I get a LinkedIn invitation by Dylan Rosario, in which he says (emphasis mine):

I’d like to invite you to talk about your problem you have with my company and products. I am sure that you just don’t understand what we are doing.

Yes, the problem is all mine.

Not that I feel like talking about AdUUp, but I’m 100% certain I’m not the only one who feels that AdUUp, – how to put it charitably? – lacks that certain something. Do a search for AdUUp on Summize and you’ll get a sense of some other opinions.

So, Dylan, are you Henry Collerton in disguise? Even if it wasn’t you, I would find out who in your company is calling blog critics “perverts” and do something about it. At the very least, try to get some perspective and, instead of blaming the messenger, do some serious introspection. Engage your critics respectfully, don’t attack them.

My already low opinion of AdUUp just got much lower. Is that the result you wanted when you woke up Friday morning?

4 Responses to “AdUUp: Lame, Tone-Deaf”


  1. 1 Damon July 1, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Excellent post! The fact that they won’t stand up behind their product only adds to your point.

  2. 2 Nathan Kaiser July 3, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Isn’t it amazing when companies go about addressing their critics in completely the wrong way? It seems difficult for some people to engage in a simple dialog.

  3. 3 Marina Martin July 3, 2008 at 8:29 am

    I don’t love to hate on other companies. But really, any company that opens a presentation *boasting* that they created the pop-under lacks a basic understanding of their audience. Leaving juvenile comments on blogs really did nothing to improve my opinion of them, either, not that there was any danger of my ever using the service.


  1. 1 Whrrl is Whonderrful « The Pursuit of a Life Trackback on July 30, 2008 at 6:30 pm

Leave a Reply

