Listening To Success

I have never quite understood the attraction of “real-life” crime dramas like CSI, Law and Order, etc. My main issue is that these TV shows deal in the underbelly of human existence – death, injury, crime, pain, loss, hopelessness, and all the rest.

I guess I’m a big believer in surrounding yourself with positive things, and moreover, thinking positive thoughts. I guess that’s why my wife occasionally calls me “Pollyanna.”

What touched off the introductory thoughts? I just finished listening to a short MP3 of serial entrepreneur Matt Cassidy speaking at SXSW. It occurs to me that I don’t spend enough time listening to podcasts of successful entrepreneurs. There’s a lot of material out there to listen to. And, at some level, conscious or otherwise, listening to that material has to have a positive impact on my own entrepreneurial efforts.

Think of Stuart Smalley and his daily affirmations, but add in real actionable information, unique insights, and best practices, experience, and much more. I’d love to hear an audio series in the same vein as the interviews in the book Founders at Work.

My June goal: listen to more successful people. If you know of any great audio, please link to it in the comments.

2 Responses to “Listening To Success”


  1. 1 Marina Martin June 5, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    There is a free podcast out of Standard called “Entrepreneurial Thought Leaders” (search iTunes) that’s got lots of great interviews and plenty of fresh content. One of my favorites.

  2. 2 Anthony Stevens June 5, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    @Marina Martin: Got it — thanks for the tip!


Leave a Reply

