Start, Then Continue

Two nice thoughts today on the business of iterating your startup idea: First, from my friend Carolynn Duncan, this comment (via Twitter):

re: that entrepreneur link– starting the race isn’t the difficult part, it’s running the damn marathon.

Next, a blog post from Seth Godin about “grand openings”:

Make a list of successful products in your industry. Most of them didn’t start big. Not the Honda Accord or Facebook, not Aetna Insurance, not JetBlue or that church down the street. Most overnight successes take a decade (okay, four years online).

I might have a little quibble with Carolynn over the semantics of what it means to “start the race”: launching Crowdify this past weekend was hard. Damned hard. All the typical procrastination/perfectionist/fear of failure/fear of criticism bugaboos exposed their fangs at numerous points along the way. Yet, I didn’t feel like I’d “started” until I actually released something. Before, I was the talker. Now, I actually have something out there. I’ve put my stake in the ground.

I think a lot of people are like I was in the beginning: they think (secretly hope?) that “starting” means “I have an idea that I’m tinkering with.” That way lies the slow death of unfulfilled promise.

Here’s some feedback from my friend Craig on his review of Crowdify:

Good first release, now the real work starts….

So true.

2 Responses to “Start, Then Continue”


  1. 1 Marina Martin June 3, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    I think “starting the race” means having an idea, not launching the product. Hardly anyone actually executes on their idea! You are in the elite minority 🙂

  2. 2 Anthony Stevens June 3, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Maybe, in keeping with the metaphor, one could say I’ve cleared the first hurdle? 😛


Leave a Reply

