Sorry, Flock. FF3 Eats Your Lunch.

I’ve been using the Flock browser since last fall. I thought it was a neat idea to combine a bunch of social platforms into the browser experience. Even if they didn’t always pull it off (see here and here), it was (and remains) a worthy goal.

Now, however, Firefox has their Version 3 release candidate out, and I’m switching. Why? Speed. FF3 is so much faster than Flock, especially in AJAX operations, there’s no justification for sticking with Flock.

Add to that the comment I heard at the May STS meeting, that spam-worthy AdUUp had signed a search deal with Flock, and I’ve lost some of the love for what was once my main squeeze.

The door’s not shut completely, but it’s closing fast.

8 Responses to “Sorry, Flock. FF3 Eats Your Lunch.”


  1. 1 Evan Hamilton June 2, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Hey Anthony,

    We’re the first to say that Firefox3’s improvements (especially in the performance arena) are fantastic, which is why we already have a working Alpha of Flock based on Firefox 3. Expect a beta shortly after they officially release.

    As for AdUUp, I’ve spoken with our VP of Business Development, and he confirms that Flock has no plans whatsoever to work with AdUUp.

    Hope that reassures you, and I hope we’ll see you later this year when we move to the Firefox3 platform!

    Evan Hamilton
    Flock Community Ambassador
    evan at flock dot com

  2. 2 Anthony Stevens June 2, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Evan: that’s great to hear (on both counts). I’ll check out your beta when it becomes available. I really like your guys’ philosophy, and want to continue using Flock if the speed is comparable.

  3. 3 Tony Wright June 2, 2008 at 9:33 am

    Wow. My heretofore unshakable faith in AddUUp is shaken.

  4. 4 Anthony Stevens June 2, 2008 at 9:38 am

    @Tony Wright: I guess you might have to explore other options in the spam-centric search aggregation space!

  5. 5 Evan Hamilton June 2, 2008 at 9:44 am

    Anthony: Thanks man! Flock’n’roll!

  6. 6 Marina Martin June 2, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    I can’t believe Flock isn’t integrating AdUUp as its exclusive search technology. I was really looking forward to losing all of my website traffic to Home Depot!

    I was going to start using Flock, but now that I’ve heard this, it’s back to MSN Live and IE 6.0 for me.


  1. 1 AdUUp: Lame, Tone-Deaf « The Pursuit of a Life Trackback on June 30, 2008 at 6:24 pm
  2. 2 Firefox 3.0 Is A Winner « The Pursuit of a Life Trackback on July 5, 2008 at 6:27 am

Leave a Reply

