Crowdify Launches!

Well, I made my goal of launching Crowdify by the end of May. At 11:57 PM last night, I threw open the doors to http://crowdify.com and sent a tweet to my close friends and acquaintances.

I feel pretty good. The release is obviously an alpha, but the whole point was to get SOMETHING launched. I’ve been talking a good game recently about releasing early and often, about failing fast and iterating quickly, but the little doubt-gnome that lives deep inside each of us always wants to do “just that one more thing” before sending something out for critique. When I was writing fiction, it was the same deal – you always felt like you could do more revision before you let someone else read your work.

Let me pull up a favorite quote, from Scottish mountaineer W. H. Murray:

Until one is committed there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation) there is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plan: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favour all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance which no man could have dreamt would have come his way, I have learned a deep respect for one of Goethe’s couplets: ‘Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it..

Well, I’ve committed myself. Let the magic begin!

4 Responses to “Crowdify Launches!”


  1. 1 Marina Martin June 1, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    This is my favorite podcast episode EVER (under 3 minutes long) from Merlin Mann on the Beauty of 1.0:

    http://www.43folders.com/2006/09/18/first-time-sex

    I listen to it whenever I’m tempted to do “just one more thing” before launching. Heck, I have 12 blogs up at the moment in various states of progress, but I’m pleased as punch that they’re *up* so I can start writing anytime, instead of still having to create a design, customize WordPress, etc. etc.

  2. 2 Damon June 1, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Fantastic Anthony! Fantastic!


  1. 1 Managing Two Twitter Accounts? « The Pursuit of a Life Trackback on June 1, 2008 at 11:38 am
  2. 2 How Secret Should You Be With Your Startup Idea? « The Pursuit of a Life Trackback on June 4, 2008 at 5:56 am

Leave a Reply

