Why Robert Scoble REALLY Loves FriendFeed

Today’s meta-meme is about Twitter employee Alex Payne supposedly laying all of Twitter’s problems at the feet of so-called “super-users”, aka Robert Scoble. Read the post and tell me if you don’t think Scobleizer overreacted.

The deeper issue is this whole FriendFeed vs. Twitter meme, with several prominent blogger/tweeter types recently proclaimining in favor of FriendFeed. It’s sort of like a superdelegate coming out in favor of one of the Barack or Hillary – it’s big news and gets echoed repeatedly.

Scoble is firmly on the side of FriendFeed, and it’s not just about Twitter’s scalability problems. Here’s the real reason why: On Twitter, he’s just one of many people you may follow. On FriendFeed he’s a big fish: he gets to start and own “conversations”, with people piping in to contribute to memes that HE started. He posts a one-liner with a link and gets dozens of people following up on his entry.

Twitter is democratic; FriendFeed is oligarchic. Twitter is loose and unpredictable; FriendFeed reads a lot like the blog posts at the bottom of Scobleizer.com. If I wanted to hear a bunch of people agreeing with Scoble I’d just go read his damned blog.

So if you want a bunch of me-too bloviating, by all means go follow Scoble on FriendFeed.

Twitter is a different animal – lifestreaming in the truest sense of the word. I enjoy the glimpses of things happening that go by; I like being able to jump in and out of the tweetstream; and I enjoy the brevity that Twitter forces on me (and the people I follow).

I also enjoy the fact that I don’t need to go back and read all the tweets I “missed” while I was offline. Mathew Ingram, whose name in Latin must mean the aggregation of the terms “echo”, “meme”, and “ex post facto”, doesn’t like this – he wants to go back in time and “catch up”. Man, if you think Twitter is about catching up, you don’t get Twitter at all.

In this battle, make sure that you vote properly: are you in favor of being a super-user groupie (FriendFeed), or a first-order participant (Twitter)? Choose wisely.

(If you love Twitter and liked this post, follow me at http://twitter.com/anthonyrstevens)

2 Responses to “Why Robert Scoble REALLY Loves FriendFeed”


  1. 2 Anthony Stevens May 30, 2008 at 8:56 am

    @adam: Nice reply!

    The battle of wits has begun. But I know something you don’t know: I …. am NOT left handed! Also, you fell victim to one of the classic blunders! The most famous is never get involved in a land war in Asia, but only slightly less well-known is this: never go in against a [blogger] when [Twitter] is on the line! Ha ha ha ha ha…

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093779/quotes


Leave a Reply

