Web 2.0 Pronunciation

When I was a young, brash lad, full of myself and having more than my fair share of natural sibling competitiveness, I used to poke fun of my older brother when he mispronounced words that he had read, but had never heard spoken. After he read THGTTG he pulled out some doozies; I with I could remember exactly what they were.

With Web 2.0 names approaching Gaelic, Welsh or Old Norse in terms of oddball spellings, I now find myself struggling to figure out how to pronounce some of these names. Two in particular that are getting the best of me are Qik and Hahlo. Is it “Kick” and “Halo” or “Quick” and “Hah-low”?

I have a little company called Xidey that throws lots of people off. I’ve heard pronounced every which way. “Ziti” (like the noodle), “Zitty” (like pimples!), “Excitey” (close, but not quite)…I’m happy with my new startup product’s name, “Crowdify”, which is probably not a candidate for mispronunciation.

What Web 2.0 names throw you off?

0 Responses to “Web 2.0 Pronunciation”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

