Google App Engine Documentation and Python

I’ve been browsing through the Google App Engine documentation and am violently resisting the urge to classify or judge the Python software development environment based on what I see here. It seems like a bit of a toy language, and comparing it to what I know best – the Microsoft development environment – it would compete with maybe 2001-2002 – late ASP, very early C#/.NET. The templating system in particular brings back very many bad memories of “classic” ASP in the pre-.NET days.

However, having said that, the “Hello World” examples for any language — even “Hello, world” with authentication, templating, database access, etc. – are all fairly simple by necessity.

I’d like to get my hands on some robust Python web code to see what I’m (most likely) missing. The only real previous exposure I have to Python was in reading the book Programming Collective Intelligence; and while those examples were neat, most of them could have been written in just about any language – i.e. just algorithms. As a practicing software developer, I need (or rather, want) a complete development environment that not only allows robustness, but in fact encourages it. I’ll use an analogy: when I’m walking, I don’t want to have to look down every step and make sure my shoelaces are still tied.

Right now I’m wondering what a tightly wound developer from, say, the Eiffel camp would have to say about Python if her only exposure to it was via these Google docs. Yowza!

2 Responses to “Google App Engine Documentation and Python”


  1. 1 Damon April 8, 2008 at 9:35 am

    I know a lot of java people rave about Python. From strictly a language semantics perspective, I really enjoy Ruby, which seems to have quite a Smalltalk following.

    I could just never get into Perl. A single line of code for an entire web server is neat but would it kill you to make it readable?

    Wow, file this under “inane.”

  2. 2 paddy3118 April 8, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    A lot of Python code is written in ‘Any Old Editor’, It may well be daunting to leave the security of an IDE but a lot of people are very productive in Python without one.

    Try this:
    http://showmedo.com/videos/python


Leave a Reply

