My Page Rank Just Shot Way Up

I’d heard from Tony Hung at Deep Jive Interests that there has been another PageRank update, and out of curiosity I went online and checked the page rank of my blog, https://xidey.wordpress.com. I was very, VERY surprised to see a PageRank of 5, whereas before whenever I’d checked it, I saw a big fat goose egg.

5 is very respectable.  Deep Jive Interests, which I’ve been reading since I started blogging, got dropped to a 3.  Andrew Chen, another very respectable blogger, is at 4.  Brier Dudley is a 3.  John Cook is a 4.

Is it because I don’t have advertisements?  Dunno, but I’m excited about the spike in traffic I’m already seeing.  I’m going to stick to my knitting, whether my PageRank goes up or down, because I’m ultimately blogging for myself (and you), not Google.

But for the moment I’m very pleased.

2 Responses to “My Page Rank Just Shot Way Up”


  1. 1 Kidlet March 1, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    how do you measure your pagerank? i’ve always used the firefox browser plugin which from time to time fails to pull values for some sites and so returns n/a. I wonder if that was the cause of your goose egg in the past?

  2. 2 Anthony Stevens March 2, 2008 at 7:11 am

    Kidlet: there are a bunch of websites out there that will tell you your PR. Try http://seopen.com/seopen-tools/pagerank.php for example.


Leave a Reply

