NWEN Hacked?

A Russian server is injecting a hidden IFRAME into the NWEN page right now.  I can’t believe that this is legitimate.   I first thought that it was trying to replace the login screen and steal credentials; but upon further inspection, it’s not (apparently) doing that.  I’m no expert, but it looks like it’s….falsely crediting traffic to…jino-net.ru?  Seems strange.  Perhaps someone else can take a look and figure it out.

NWEN hacked

I’ve notified NWEN via e-mail.

The funny thing is that if not for Google I wouldn’t have known. The main events page at http://www.nwen.org/index.php?option=com_events&Itemid=15 appears normal. But Google directed me to the page shown above when I did a search on “Early Stage Investment Forum”, and I wondered why the date was set to 1969. Something didn’t smell right.

Trusty Firebug showed me the hidden IFRAME  problem in two seconds.

1 Response to “NWEN Hacked?”


  1. 1 NWEN March 21, 2008 at 9:45 am

    This issue was resolved just after we were notified of it. Thank you for making us aware of it.


Leave a Reply

