The Nostradamus of the Oscars

My main picks for the Oscars all came true!  I’m a cognoscenti now.  Here are the winners that I’d previously predicted:

Best Picture: No Country For Old Men.  I had this one pegged back in early January

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis.  Very hard to beat at his best, which I noted in the same article.

Best Supporting Actor: Javier Bardem.  See my review of his performance in No Country For Old Men here.

Best Supporting Actress: Tilda Swinton.  Michael Clayton really brought out her finest work in a long time.  A very well deserved award!

And, to allow you to fully probe the depths of my Oscar prognosticating goodness, I predicted after I saw it that Ratatouille would win the Best Animated Film Oscar.  You could see that one coming a mile off, it was that good.

I missed on Best Director – I thought it would probably go to Paul Thomas Anderson for There Will Be Blood, but it went to Joel & Ethan Coen.

Congratulations to all the winners!  I had a decent year in 2007 with the best pictures.

2 Responses to “The Nostradamus of the Oscars”


  1. 1 Damon February 25, 2008 at 7:21 am

    I think 2007 was the best movie year in a long time. That can only mean that Glitter II can’t be far off.

  2. 2 Anthony Stevens February 25, 2008 at 7:33 am

    lol @ Glitter II. Regarding bad movies, did you catch Jon Stewart’s joke early on (paraphrasing):

    “You know, even ‘Norbit’ grabbed an Oscar nomination. Which is strange, because the Academy normally ignores bad movies…”

    🙂


Leave a Reply

