Absorbed by the Apple Borg

I gave up yesterday and purchased an iPhone from the Apple Store in University Village.

When I say “gave up” what I really mean is that “one of my kids cracked the LCD screen on my AT&T Tilt“, which isn’t a warranty item.  So I had to get a new phone anyway.  I didn’t want to have to beg some teenager at AT&T for a refurb replacement for the low, low price of only 50% off, so I indulged and upgraded to the phone I really wanted since Christmas, when Santa Claus brought one for my wife.

And I’m still impressed as hell with the iPhone’s usability.  It’s so stunning an experience that it makes me wonder why iTunes is such a relative dog from a UX standpoint.  Different teams, I guess.

A quirk:: my nice Shure headphones won’t fit correctly into the iPhone’s headset jack.  It’s a 2.5 mm opening, but it’s recessed enough that it won’t fit snugly.  I paid $10 for a Monster extender that will adapt my short plug *cough* to the deeper recess on the iPhone.

I’ve already found a great Twitter client, iTweet.  I tried Hahlo based on some web recommends and found it to be confusing.  iTweet is a nicer experience.  Over EDGE it still performs well enough to be a constant companion.

Next steps: figure out how to tether for my demanding moble-worker lifestyle (hah!), and how to get Google Apps set up on my e-mail client.

1 Response to “Absorbed by the Apple Borg”


  1. 1 Damon February 24, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Welcome to the club! Buying an Apple product not only makes you an expert in industrial design, but gives you a whole host of expertise. Now you can critique not technology design, but also design in general: architecture, civil, automotive, etc. You also gain expertise in sociology, psychology and political science. Buying an Apple product is the equivalent of earning two bachelor degrees, without the hassle of “earning” it. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to get back to pontificating how great my $hit smells. “Oh, Dawn, have I told you…”


Leave a Reply

