Fantasia and the Nutcracker Suite

I’m watching Fantasia with my son. I think I just heard Deems Taylor say in the opening to The Nutcracker Suite:

Nobody really plays it anymore.

Could that be right? Looking at the notes for the ballet, I see that the Nutcracker was first performed outside of Russia in 1934 (England) and 1944 (United States). I wonder if Fantasia is partially or wholly responsible for the fact that I can’t go anywhere near a mall in the months of November or December without hearing Tchaikovsky from both the Pottery Barn on the right and the Macy’s on the left. It really IS Christmas music for a majority of the United States.

0 Responses to “Fantasia and the Nutcracker Suite”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

