Java as a First Programming Language

The focus on the Java-ness of this argument by two NYU professors is unfortunate, as it’s not really about Java but about the mindset of computer science departments and their relationship toward the job market. You could replace Java with C#, VB, Ruby, etc. and it would still be a valid argument.

When I started in CS, I was taught Ada, which I am eternally grateful for. Along the way I was taught C, C++, Lisp, Fortran (!), Pascal. I missed assembly language — <sigh of relief>.

Ada was a great way to learn programming. Compared to Java (which I learned after leaving school in 1993), I believe Ada has a lot more to offer to the new CS student.

(h/t Slashdot)

Blogged with Flock

Tags: ,

0 Responses to “Java as a First Programming Language”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

