iPhone is the Most Impressive Consumer Electronics Device in History

I’ve just finished setting up an iPhone for my wife, which I Santa Claus delivered on Christmas Day. I had been only half-following the iPhone hype since the summertime, convinced that the Windows Mobile phones, such as my newish AT&T Tilt, were superior.

I was wrong.

The iPhone is the most incredible piece of electronics I’ve ever seen. It’s sleek, fast, feature-rich, and the usability — well, let’s just say that I’ve never seen a more intuitive, friendly device in my lifetime. Most people would sooner have trouble figuring out a Pong paddle than with the iPhone.

My AT&T Tilt, while a superior phone in the Windows Mobile world, comes off like a chump. I can’t think of a single place where the Tilt is the clear winner.

In particular:

  • Networking is a SNAP.
  • E-mail configuration is a SNAP.
  • Keyboard typing is immensely helped by the instant-feedback feature.
  • The web-browsing experience is AMAZING.
  • Contact management features are FANTASTIC.
  • Navigation (with gestures and only one hard button) is SUPERB.

I’m wondering how long it will be before I sell my Tilt and get an iPhone. Seriously, I have no need for my Tilt that the iPhone doesn’t fill.

  • Remote Desktop? That’s such a drag on Windows Mobile that I don’t even use it anyway.
  • Office Mobile? Don’t use it.
  • OneNote for Windows Mobile? Too constrained to be useful.
  • Do I miss not having a stylus?  Not so far.  With the advances in gestures, I can’t think of why I would miss it.

I’m very simply blown away. Great job Apple!

1 Response to “iPhone is the Most Impressive Consumer Electronics Device in History”


  1. 1 Free iPod Touch December 29, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    I agree, the iphone has to be the best phone I have used so far.


Leave a comment




TwitterCounter for @anthonyrstevens
Add to Technorati Favorites

RSS Feed

View Anthony Stevens's profile on LinkedIn