Stubborn Windows Update Problems with KB933928

For about the past two weeks, I’d been suprised to find that just about every day my laptop would take about 5 or 10 minutes “Configuring Updates” (you know the screen I’m talking about). I thought to myself:

Self, you know this is a new laptop. You also know that Microsoft distributes a lot of patches, hotfixes, service packs, etc. via Windows Update. However, it seems like after this amount of time all the new patches should have been applied already. Why is it still updating every chance it gets?

So it turns out that Windows Update was failing. I had 34 updates that were batch-installing every day, and every day 34 were failing. FUN!

I slowly made my way manually through the update list and narrowed the culprit down to KB933928. This seems to be a dodgy little set of code (see here, here, here, here, and here). At this point I’m not going to install it. I wonder if there’s a way to disable / remove it from the list of updates?

0 Responses to “Stubborn Windows Update Problems with KB933928”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

